Women Who Move Mountains: Praying with Confidence, Boldness and Grace by Sue Detweiler – Book Review

Women Who Move Mountains: Praying with Confidence, Boldness, and Grace by Sue Detweiler

Published by Bethany House Publishers May 02, 2017

Genre: Christian, Devotions

Pages: 256

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Publisher’s Description

Amid our packed schedules and life’s curveballs, our hearts long for more. We want to live and love well; we want to be a source of joy and life. The good news is that you can–and the secret is found in the simple act of prayer.

Prayer was never meant to be a recitation of requests, but rather a drawing close to the heart of God. When you learn to exchange the obstacles of life for the promises of God, you will pray with passion and confidence rather than fear or insecurity. From this place of surrender and intimacy, you will discover what it means to become a powerful, effective woman of prayer–a woman whose life overflows with springs of living water that transform not only her own life, but the world around her.

With study questions and journaling exercises included, this is the perfect book to go deeper either on your own or with a group.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Story Notes

Sue Detweiler’s study of prayer beckons you to go deeper into your prayer life than you’ve ever ventured before, forgetting fear and arrogance, to find yourself in a more intimate relationship with the God who calls you to know Him better.

Have you ever read a book and thought “Wow, this has so much truth in it, but I’m just not connecting with how its written”? That was me with this book. I loved the truth Ms. Detweiler shared and felt she was on the mark with what she was teaching, but I just couldn’t get connected with her writing. This frustrates me quite a bit as I know I have much to learn about the greatness of God, that He wants us to get to know Him better, and that is done best through prayer and reading His Word. Being raised in a Christian home, prayer has been a major part of my life since I was a very young child. We prayed at meal times, bedtime, before trips and, most certainly, at church. As I have grown older and am seeking to build my relationship with Jesus every day, I am more frequent and sincere in the prayers that I offer as I see His provision and love in even the smallest happenings. And since I would never say I am an expert at prayer, I thought this book would be a great way to expand my knowledge and seek to pray for myself and others in a more meaningful, respectful way. Yes, I did learn some things and was reminded of others I knew but had been lax in applying, but the writing style hindered me in my learning. I had a hard time identifying with many of the stories she was sharing as those have not been my experience or history. I am also not married which also makes books written by married women hard for me to connect with. The second half of the book was a better fit for me as it was more focused on what I could do with myself rather than what others had done with themselves. When I have to question my motives, thoughts and habits, I find that I can always find ways in which I need to improve or confess wrong doing. So while this book was not to my particular taste I have given it a rating of 4 out of 5 stars because I feel that it still has so much to teach. It may be that this is just the book someone else is looking for and I am to pass it along so that God can use it in their lives. If so, that would be an amazing privilege that I am most thankful for which to be a part. I will certainly recommend this book to others, knowing God can use whatever He chooses to grow them in their spiritual walk. May others find more to connect with and a deeper relationship with God through the truth in these pages.

I received this book free of charge from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review. I will receive no fiscal compensation from Bethany House Publishers for this review.

Leave a Reply

