Drawn In Bible Study “Esther – Finding Yourself in Times of Trouble” by Eugene H. Peterson/The Navigators – Book Review

Drawn In Bible Study “Esther – Finding Yourself in Times of Trouble”

Published By NavPress/Tyndale House Publishers  June 20, 2017

Genre: Devotionals, Personal Growth

Pages: 80

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Publisher’s Description

Color with Friends. Be Drawn In to Scripture.
An unlikely queen. A murderous enemy. A miraculous turnaround. The story of Esther is breathtaking. Through study, coloring, and conversation, discover how to find your voice and grow your faith during times of trouble.

Deepen your friendships as you gather around Scripture for coloring and conversation. Drawn In offers simple four-week Bible studies—perfect for groups or personal devotions. Coloring quiets your heart and mind so you can enter fully into Scripture’s stories. The Bible’s passion and personality come through in The Message, surprising new and old Bible readers alike. Discover the delight of being Drawn In.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Story Notes

Eugene Peterson partners up with The Navigators to bring a new and really fun way to study the book of Esther with a coloring book bible study!

Although I have not previously done a Bible study written by Eugene Peterson or The Navigators, I was really excited to do this study as it included two of my favorites: the book of Esther and coloring. I was a little apprehensive about how in depth the study would be as it seemed to be such a short book, however I found that Peterson and the Navigators had been careful not to neglect the importance of the actual study while offering the fun addition of an adult coloring book. It was really wonderful to ponder the Bible passage and questions to be answered while I colored the accompanying pages. I found that I spent longer considering the passage I read each day when I took the time to color the picture attached to the questions I was to answer. Add to this the relaxation that coloring brings to the mind and body and this was a perfect study for me. I was also very pleased with the actual study that was presented. The questions were very pointed and as I had to ponder them longer I found myself truly searching for what I would have said or done in a situation or recalling what I had done in the past. I have done studies on the book of Esther before but this study focused itself on the reasons why each of the characters acted in a certain way and if you agreed with their response or if you would have acted differently. It was thought provoking to consider how I would handle becoming the wife of a “heathen” king who was easily led by those around him. Another question that I found interesting was how I would have handled Haman and his evil intents while not being vengeful. So often we read a book or passage of scripture we have read several times before and yet never placed ourselves in the situation and considered if we would answer God’s calling in the same way. Peterson also pointed out an interesting happening in this powerful little book: God is not overtly seen or spoken of at all in the whole book, rather He is in the background, working and showing His children how to follow Him by serving. I had not realized this happening before and it gave me a new interest as I read to search out the subtle ways I could see God working in each situation that was included in Esther. I really enjoyed doing this study and coloring the pages that went with each chapter. I have already recommended it to several of my friends and am planning to purchase a copy for family members for either birthday or Christmas presents. I am also looking forward to purchasing the Drawn In study on the book of Ruth  as well as the study on Mary, the mother of Jesus, as I believe they will be just as good or better than this one has been.

I received a free copy of this book from NavPress/Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review. I will receive no fiscal compensation from either company for this review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

