The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming – Book Review

The Trouble With Women  By Jacky Fleming

(Note – The cover illustration pictured is pending approval and may not match final copy)

Andrews McMeel Publishing   September 20, 2016

Genres:  Humor

Pages:  128

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

__________________________________________________________________

Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist’s brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women’s “issues,” “frailties,” and “failures” in our not-so-distant history.

Ever noticed that women don’t feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women’s main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.

Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the “dustbin of history,” while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale “genius hair.”

__________________________________________________________________

Story Notes

Jacky Fleming’s hilarious look at the treatment of women throughout history who dared challenge the accepted roles of women will leave you with a stitch in your side and a wide smile that will linger long after you finish the last page.

It is not often that I come across an illustrated book for adults that really peaks my interest and keeps me entertained throughout the entirety. Jacky Fleming’s topic is not a new study but this topic is one that usually leaves me with bad taste after reading how a certain people groups were discriminated against. However, I found that in spite of the truth telling that was behind this humorous book there was a smile on my face when I finished it. I really enjoyed her sarcastic and snappy way of showing how women were discouraged from moving beyond their socially acceptable roles to those outside of their homes and family. It was fun to look at the incredibly ludicrous reasons why men did not want women to study science, languages, accounting/banking, real estate or any other subject higher than eighth grade level. From the idea that women were unable to understand advanced learning because their brains are so much smaller than men’s to the laughable idea that women were not attuned to science and medicine because they lack “Genius Hair”, Ms. Fleming had me shouting in laughter as the pages went by. Three of my favorite topics were: Ms. Fleming’s description of “Big frocks were an early form of handbag”; that “Women who studied science ran the risk of growing a beard”; and that a girl who studied hard would “damage her health for the rest of their life and her children would be shriveled”. There were many others that could be considered equally as funny but I will leave those for other readers to discover. And although I am not usually a fan, the illustrations that accompanied each page were sometimes the part that made me laugh the most. This book was not extremely long in content but is definitely one I will look into purchasing for my personal library. I have not read any of Ms. Flemings works before but I will definitely be looking for more from her in the future. I would most enthusiastically recommend or gift this book to someone I know, knowing there is little if anything in the pages that would be offensive.

I received this E-book from Andrews McMeel Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. I will receive no fiscal compensation from either company for this review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s