Reluctant Bridesmaid by Wendy Davy – Book Review

Reluctant Bridesmaid  By Wendy Davy

Published By  White Rose Publishing/Pelican Book Group  March 03, 2011

Genres: Christian, Romance

Pages:  295

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

 

_____________________________________________________________________

Jordan Harrison no longer trusts relationships, so when her widowed mother is swept away by a handsome, wealthy architect, Jordan fears the hasty engagement will end in disaster. After all, how well can her mother know the guy after only a few months? Intent on saving her mother from certain heartbreak, Jordan races to Breckenridge Manor to delay the wedding, but runs into more than she’s bargained for—a handsome, understanding man intent on helping her heal past wounds and open her mind to new possibilities.

Known as the man with nerves of steel, Tanner Breckenridge lives up to his reputation, but it doesn’t take long for him to discover he has a soft spot for Jordan Harrison, the daughter of his father’s future bride. Loyal to his father, but captivated by Jordan, Tanner puts his heart on the line and risks everything for a chance at love.

_____________________________________________________________________

Story Notes

Wendy Davy’s story of new loves and learning to trust again will leave readers with a feeling of having witnessed God at work in the lives of a soon-to-be-new family.

Jordan Harrison and Tanner Breckenridge are the main characters of this nice, faith-filled story and I quite enjoyed getting to know them. Jordan is heading to her future father’s home on a mission to stop her mother from “making the biggest mistake of her life”. She is both hurt and confused that her mother, Ellie, can so quickly become engaged to Maxwell, whom she has known such a short time. I love how real and faith challenged Wendy Davy made Jordan, fully letting her work through her trust issues and inability to let God be her steady support instead of the people around her. I found myself wondering how I would handle such a situation, would I be angry? hurt? happy? excited? With parents who have been married for 35+ years, I think I might feel much like Jordan did at the beginning when she believed that her mother had forgotten all about her dad and was moving on to a new relationship with no apparent problems. However, knowing that most people need the connection of marriage, I was glad to see how Davy worked this out in her book. Ensuring that Jordan and her mother talked in-depth and honestly about how they each felt gave this piece of the story a satisfying conclusion. But there were further pieces that were dealt with in the pages of this story of love and compassion. Tanner, Maxwell’s son, helps Jordan work through her feelings of betrayal and hurt and points her to God as the One in whom she should place her trust and Whom she should be leaning on for support. His openness about how he missed being there for his mother before she died shows Jordan that she should be careful not to let her feelings of anger and hurt get in the way of her relationship with her mother and the chance at a relationship with Maxwell. I enjoyed seeing how Tanner and Jordan slowly fell in love, despite neither one looking for each other at the beginning. This somewhat central theme made the story fun and gave me a chance to know the characters better in the way they handled their mutual attraction. Tanner has his own issues with trust that come out towards the end of the story and I loved how Jordan, who had just recently worked through her own issues was able to show Tanner that his past mistakes do not have to dictate his future choices. The themes of forgiveness and trust that were so completely woven through this story gave me pause on several occasions and made me evaluate what my response would have been given the same circumstances.

While this story did not have a lot of advanced language or challenging vocabulary, I enjoyed reading such a nice and uplifting book. I found the reminders of faith in God very good and the doctrines of forgiveness and trusting fully in God compatible with my own beliefs. I would have liked to have seen more interaction between Maxwell and Jordan. I felt he somewhat avoided her and didn’t seek to reassure her of his deep love for Ellie and herself as Ellie’s daughter. I would have also liked to see a little more interaction between Kyle, Tanner and Maxwell. Kyle’s anger towards both Maxwell and Tanner was because he was hurt and although both relationships were repaired somewhat by the end of the story, there was something missing from those resolutions that left me asking “So, what now?”

I do believe I would recommend this book to a friend, but I’m not sure its one I would purchase for my personal library. However, I would definitely recommend it to someone I knew who needed the reassurance that things will turn out well in this type of situation if one chooses to rely on God.

I received this e-book from White Rose Publishing through Net Galley in exchange for a fair and honest review. I will receive no monetary compensation from either company for this review.

Leave a Reply

